A Carnival of Firsts…

Our home carnival was a story of firsts this year…

George Jefferys, at just 4 years old, took his first adventure with the Uncle Tom crew. Grandfather, Tailman Graham, and Pat Rice (aka Mrs Brewer) looked proudly on as George soon got into the spirit of things without any hint of nerves. A future rider in the making! George was joined by Shay Smallridge in our list of firsts, walking the length of the carnival for the first time at the tender age of 3. Huge congratulations to you both.

George Rice

George Jeffreys in his 1st Carnival

Uncle Tom was also joined for the first time by a member of the aristocracy, Lord Gallagher. The crew were delighted to have somebody of his standing aiding The Grey Mare on her onward journey to seaside. His Lordship performed admirably, even finding the time to save the life of a rather wayward reveller who sought to get up close and personal with Michael Johns’ new tractor.

Lord Gallagher

Uncle Tom joined by Lord Gallagher

Completing the set of firsts was the presence of fern on the base of the trailer, a much more forgiving plant than heather. Thanks go to Norman Sanders and John Webber who together ensured a prickle free journey for our youngest members.

Just a few days earlier, The Old Grey Mare had opened up Combe Martin Carnival Week in style. She looked, and sounded, as good as ever thanks to the hard work of Sarah Rumson, Sue Muir and Gerald Walters for their floral decoration and to Darren Smallridge for a faultless performance on the audio. There were however some emergency procedures which took place behind the scenes, these were performed by Gerald and Graham who successfully operated on the belly of the horse to ensure she was able retain fluids. They are now looking to transfer their newly found expertise to the bladder of our youngest rider, Kevin Irwin!

So another successful Carnival completed under the stewardship of our Commander-in-Chief, Gerald Walter. Gerald’s ongoing contribution to the village has been recognised in the local Church with a 5 foot floral tribute in his image. Our esteemed Leader and his merry band of followers will now move onto Ilfracombe (21st August)… see you there.

Gerald Walters

Gerald Walters our Commander-in-Chief

Our riders for Combe Martin were: Gerald Walters, Darren Smallridge, Norman Sanders, John Webber, Mark Sanders, Kevin Irwin and Graham Rice. The riders were aided by the tremendous efforts of the Ground Crew, headed up by Sarah Rumson, Sue Muir, Pat Rice and joined by Matt and Josh Rumson, Lynne Parkinson, Will, Erin and Shay Smallridge.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

%d bloggers like this: